Midland Hotel Manchester web

The 37th ESARDA symposium on Safeguards and Nuclear Non-Proliferation, will be held in Manchester, United Kingdom from 19-21 May, 2015. The Symposium will be preceded by meetings of the ESARDA Steering Committee and the Working Groups, on 18 May 2015.

The symposium is an opportunity for research organisations, safeguards authorities and nuclear plant operators to exchange information on new aspects of international safeguards and non-proliferation, as well as recent developments in nuclear safeguards and non-proliferation related research activities and their implications for the safeguards community.

Register for the ESARDA Symposium and Working Groups here

Evening Tour – Cold War Nuclear Bunker

Hackgreen - Tuesday 19th May, 18:00hrshack-green2

NNL and ESARDA are pleased to offer a unique evening event for conference delegates to visit a former UK nuclear bunker from which regional government would have operated in the event of a nuclear war. The bunker contains artefacts, and weapons from the era, including the largest public display of nuclear weapons (all disabled) in Europe.

Transport will be provided following the symposium on Tuesday 19th May from the conference venue, returning later that evening. Refreshments will be provided at Hackgreen. A small charge of £20.00 is required to cover transport, admission, and refreshments. Numbers to this event are limited to 50 on a first-come, first-served basis.

This visit is open to all attendees and partners. No security clearance is required.

Please register and reserve your place on this event by email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .  

Payment, in British pounds in cash or by credit card, will be taken during registration in Manchester.

This link takes you to additional details about Hackgreen.

2015 Symposium Information

Organisation information:
Important Dates:
  • Venue: Midland Hotel, Manchester (UK)
  • Call for Papers: pdf icon
  • Submission link using Easychair
  • Easychair guidelines: pdf icon
  • Guidelines for Authors: pdf icon
  • Information for Participants: pdf icon
  • Hotel Options: pdf icon
  • Sponsorship & Exhibition booklet: pdf icon
  • Final Programme: pdf icon
  • Registrations open: 1 December 2014

  • Abstract submission: 14 December 2014

  • Notification of acceptance: 31 January 2015

  • Papers submission deadline: 1 May 2015

For further infromation please write to:
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

ESARDA 2015 Event Management Team contact details

email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Telephone: +44 (0)161 877 7693

Visit to Capenhurst

capenhurst-urenco-uk-ltd-800In conjunction with the 2015 ESARDA Symposium, Urenco has generously offered a site visit to their uranium enrichment facility at Capenhurst on Friday 22 May 2015.

There will be no additional charge for the Urenco Capenhurst visit, and transport will be provided to and from Manchester with the following timings:

Depart from Midland Hotel, Manchester                8:15am, Friday 22 May

Arrive at Manchester airport                                 3:00pm, Friday 22 May
Arrive at Midland Hotel                                        3:30pm, Friday 22 May

Arrangements will be made subject to there being a sufficient number of registered symposium delegates that wish to participate in the site visit.  You will appreciate that acceptance on the site visit to such a facility will also be dependent upon meeting certain additional criteria and, for this purpose, if you wish to participate in the site visit, please indicate this on the registration form.  You will then be contacted directly by NNL with a request for additional personal information (passport details).


Symposium Programme Committee

Steering Committee:
  • James Tushingham (ESARDA President - National Nuclear Laboratory)
  • Filippo Sevini (ESARDA Secretary - ITU, Joint Research Centre, European Commission)
Programme Committee Chair:
  • Irmgard Niemeyer (Forschungszentrum Jülich)
Programme Committee Members:
  • Kare Axell (Strålsäkerhetsmyndigeten)
  • Alessandro Borella (SCK•CEN, Belgian Nuclear Research Centre)
  • Patrick Chard (Canberra)
  • Jean Jalouneix (IRSN)
  • Klaus-Richard Luetzenkirchen (ITU, Joint Research Centre, European Commission)
  • Paolo Peerani (ITU, Joint Research Centre, European Commission)
  • Eileen Radde (TU Wien, Atominstitut)
  • Arnold Rezniczek (UBA-GmbH)
  • Michel Richard (Consultant)
  • Peter Schwalbach (DG ENERGY, European Commission)
  • Zsolt Stefánka (Hungarian Atomic Energy Authority)
  • Eva Szeles (Hungarian Academy of Sciences Centre for Energy Research)
  • Hamid Tagziria (ITU, Joint Research Centre, European Commission)
  • Erik Wolfart (ITU, Joint Research Centre, European Commission)